(INDIANAPOLIS) — Two business leaders were honored today by the Indiana Chamber of Commerce as the 2018 Samuel C. Schlosser Volunteers of the Year: JoAnn Brouillette, president and CEO of Demeter LP in Fowler; and Paul Perkins, president and CEO of Jeffersonville-based Amatrol.

“Organizations like ours thrive in large part thanks to dedicated volunteers who give tirelessly of their time and expertise,” says Indiana Chamber President Kevin Brinegar. “JoAnn is a real champion for our membership team and Paul is our go-to person on workforce development policy.”

Both are also part of the Indiana Chamber executive committee and board of directors.

Brouillette is the third-generation leader of her family company, Demeter LP, operating grain elevators and providing farmers with a variety of risk management tools. She is actively engaged with the Indiana Chamber, assisting in the recruitment and retention of businesses that will benefit from Chamber membership.

Brouillette: “I see the benefits of being a member of the Indiana Chamber and the more voices we have, the stronger our voice is together. It’s important that businesses communicate what our needs are, not at the expense of others, but in addition to them. And communicate not only our needs, but the implications of policies and laws on our businesses.”

Perkins is doing all he can to help solve workforce challenges from a business and personal level. His company, Amatrol, designs and builds hands-on technical training equipment for teaching manufacturing skills and engages people through interactive multimedia learning. His volunteer efforts with the Indiana Chamber also include chairing the workforce development policy committee.

Perkins: Indiana Chamber involvement has been “one of the best experiences I’ve had in community service. It’s the opportunity to make an impact on our state’s direction. The Chamber is highly regarded by our government leaders and the opportunity to shape policy has been a great opportunity.”

The Volunteer of the Year Awards luncheon sponsors were Duke Energy; Indiana American Water; Plymouth Foundry, Inc.; Ruoff Home Mortgage; and Thompson Thrift.

The luncheon, held at the Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, also kicked off the Indiana Chamber’s Indiana Vision 2025 Summit, where business leaders from across the state participated in developing next steps for the organization’s long-term economic development plan for Indiana.

Later today, the 29th Annual Awards Dinner, presented by Anthem Blue Cross & Blue Shield, will feature guest speaker J.D. Vance, the #1 New York Times best-selling author of Hillbilly Elegy.

Awards will also be presented to several prominent business, government and community leaders for their dedication to business excellence in 2018. The award winners were previously announced in September and more information is available about each at www.indianachamber.com/2018awards.

2018 Annual Award winners:

Each of the honorees is featured in the new edition of the Chamber’s business magazine, BizVoice®, available at www.bizvoicemagazine.com.

The opening reception sponsor of the 29th Annual Awards Dinner is PNC; the speaker reception sponsor is Hirons. Corporate sponsors are AT&T Indiana; CBRE; French Lick Resort; NIPSCO; OneAmerica; Tilson; and Zimmer Biomet.

Contributing sponsors are AECOM Hunt; Allison Transmission; Community Health Network; Corteva Agriscience™, Agriculture Division of DowDuPont; DISHER; FedEx; Fineline Printing Group; IGT Indiana; Indiana Soybean Alliance/Indiana Corn Marketing Council; Indiana Wesleyan University; Inside INdiana Business with Gerry Dick; KERAMIDA Inc.; The Kroger Co.; Lightbound; Markey’s Rental & Staging; MCM CPAs & Advisors; Pacers Sports & Entertainment; Roche Diagnostics Corporation; Subaru of Indiana Automotive, Inc.; Trilogy Health Services; Vectren; Vera Bradley; WFYI Productions; and WGU Indiana.


The Indiana Chamber partners with 25,000 members and investors – representing over four million Hoosiers – to achieve the mission of “cultivating a world-class environment which provides economic opportunity and prosperity.”