More than 1,300 people joined the Indiana Chamber to honor excellence in business during last week’s 30th Annual Awards Dinner at the Indiana Convention Center.

The celebration – presented by Anthem Blue Cross & Blue Shield – featured guest speakers Donna Brazile and Dana Perino. They presented their views on top policy and political topics, demonstrating that civility and bipartisanship can still have a place in Washington. View event photos.

Mark your calendar for November 10, 2020 for the 31st annual event.

The event honored the following:
Ogletree Deakins Business Leader of the Year: Chuck Surack, Sweetwater Sound founder and CEO
Video | Press release | BizVoice story

Birch Bayh-Richard Lugar Government Leader of the Year: Gov. Eric Holcomb
Video | Press release | BizVoice story

Dynamic Leader of the Year: John Thompson, owner of four Indianapolis-based businesses
Video | Press release | BizVoice story

Republic Airways and LIFT Academy Community of the Year: Plymouth
Video | Press release | BizVoice story

“We are thrilled to recognize each of these honorees for their tremendous efforts in making Indiana a better place to live and work. They have allowed their passions to drive them to great heights and their achievements will continue to impact our state for years to come,” says Indiana Chamber President and CEO Kevin Brinegar.

The opening reception sponsor was PNC. The speaker sponsor was OneAmerica. Corporate sponsors were AT&T Indiana, CBRE, French Lick Resort, NIPSCO, Tilson and Zimmer Biomet.

Contributing sponsors were AECOM Hunt; Community Health Network; Corteva Agriscience; Eskenazi Health Foundation; Fineline Printing Group; IGT Indiana; Indiana Soybean Alliance/Indiana Corn Marketing Council; Indiana Wesleyan University; Inside INdiana Business with Gerry Dick; KERAMIDA Inc.; Markey’s Rental & Staging; MCM CPAs & Advisors; Pacers Sports & Entertainment; Plymouth Foundry, Inc.; Roche Diagnostics Corporation; Subaru of Indiana Automotive, Inc.; The Kroger Co.; UPS; Vectren, A CenterPoint Energy Company; WFYI Productions; and WGU Indiana.

Tim Haffner Named New Board Chair
Earlier in the day, at the fall board and annual membership meeting, Fort Wayne attorney Tim Haffner was welcomed as the new chair of the Chamber’s board of directors.

Haffner, who will serve a one-year term as board chair through November 2020, is a partner at Faegre Baker Daniels where he is a corporate and commercial lawyer. He has extensive experience in commercial real estate mergers, acquisitions and joint ventures.

Haffner joined the Indiana Chamber board in 2006 and was awarded its Volunteer of the Year honor in 2009.

Keynote speakers for the luncheon were Ryan McCarty and Scott Moorehead, co-founders of Culture of Good, which helps organizations engage the hearts of their employees and empower them to make changes in their communities.

McCarty was a guest on INChamber: The Podcast during season two. Click here to listen. A second episode, featuring McCarty and Marcie Warren of Ingram Micro Mobility, on implementing the Culture of Good in the workplace will debut November 19.

Three Volunteers Tapped at Luncheon
The Chamber also honored three Volunteers of the Year during the luncheon:

Larry Gigerich, executive managing director at Ginovus
Video | BizVoice story

Donna Niesen, partner at Katz, Sapper & Miller
Video | BizVoice story

Casey Stanley, vice president of marketing and business development at Ontario Systems
Video | BizVoice story