(INDIANAPOLIS) — Tom Hirons, president, CEO and founder of Hirons & Co. Advertising + Public Relations in Indianapolis, is now leading the Indiana Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors. His term runs through November 2016.

More than 100 members make up the Indiana Chamber board. They are presidents, CEOs and high-level executives from organizations throughout the state.

In 1978, Hirons created his advertising and public relations agency in Bloomington and developed the company into a multi-million dollar enterprise, serving clients locally and nationally while earning numerous awards and recognitions along the way. The firm is today headquartered in Indianapolis.

He joined the Indiana Chamber board in 1994 and became a member of the board’s executive committee in 2004. Hirons currently serves as co-chair of Indiana Business for Responsive Government (IBRG), the Indiana Chamber’s nonpartisan political action committee.

Hirons has an active role in community and professional organizations, including serving on the Greater Indianapolis Progress Committee and the Better Business Bureau of Central Indiana, as well as being past president and board chairman of the Greater Bloomington Chamber of Commerce. He has also been an adjunct lecturer at Indiana University since 1989.

“Tom Hirons is a thoughtful and passionate leader for the Indiana Chamber’s executive committee and board of directors. He has been a consistent supporter of the Chamber’s mission and offered invaluable insight over the years,” says Indiana Chamber President and CEO Kevin Brinegar.

“Time and again, Tom has given his time and talents in leading worthwhile organizations, and his experience and knowledge in his field are unmatched. I am excited to work with Tom in his new role as chairman of the board of directors,” Brinegar adds.

In addition, 24 business leaders from throughout the state have been named to the Indiana Chamber Board of Directors, effective immediately:

  • Melody Birmingham-Byrd, president, Duke Energy Indiana (Plainfield)
  • Mary Boelke, managing partner, Deloitte (Indianapolis)
  • Thom Bondus, chief financial officer, Park 100 Foods (Tipton)
  • Wil Boren, general manager, Zimmer Biomet (Warsaw)
  • Jeff Boris, location manager, Alcoa Warrick Operations (Newburgh)
  • Archie Brown, president and CEO, MainSource Financial Group (Greensburg)
  • Brian Burdick, managing partner, Barnes & Thornburg LLP (Indianapolis)
  • Gerri Davis-Parker, president and CEO, Truck City (Gary)
  • Jeff Harrison, president and chief executive officer, Citizens Energy Group (Indianapolis)
  • Melanie Hart, president and CEO, Tsuchiya Group North America/TASUS Corporation (Bloomington)
  • Gregory D. Hess, president, Wabash College (Crawfordsville)
  • John Keeler, vice president, general counsel and secretary, Centaur Holdings (Indianapolis)
  • Cindy Lucchese, chief administrative officer and chief financial officer, Hulman & Company (Indianapolis)
  • Kristin Marcuccilli, senior vice president and chief operating officer, STAR Financial Bank (Fort Wayne)
  • Scott McCorkle, chief executive officer, Salesforce Marketing Cloud (Indianapolis)
  • Jeff Rea, president and CEO, St. Joseph County Chamber of Commerce (South Bend)
  • Gary Reynolds, president and owner, Reynolds Farm Equipment, Inc. (Atlanta)
  • Mario Rodriguez, executive director, Indianapolis Airport Authority (Indianapolis)
  • Lisa Schlehuber, chief executive officer, Elements Financial (Indianapolis)
  • Mark Sifferlen, vice president – ethics and compliance, and corporate secretary, Cummins (Indianapolis)
  • Violet Sistovaris, executive vice president, Northern Indiana Public Service Company (NIPSCO) (Merrillville)
  • Kevin Speer, president and chief executive officer, Hendricks Regional Health (Danville)
  • Brad Toothaker, president, Bradley Company (South Bend)
  • George Uzelac, president, Uzelac & Associates (Valparaiso)

The Indiana Chamber board plays a crucial role in developing the aspects of the organization’s business advocacy efforts. Members serve on various committees that research key topics and define public policy positions for adoption by the entire board each fall. These positions are used by the Indiana Chamber’s advocacy team to initiate and evaluate legislation at the Indiana Statehouse and at the federal level.

“As we welcome new board members, we gain the experience of knowledgeable professionals and the dedication of Hoosiers from across the state,” says Brinegar. “We appreciate the service of these individuals and look forward to their input as we all work to promote economic prosperity and job growth in Indiana.”

Rea’s term on the board is for one year; all other new board members will serve three-year terms through fall 2018.


The Indiana Chamber partners with 25,000 members and investors – representing over four million Hoosiers – to achieve the mission of “cultivating a world-class environment which provides economic opportunity and prosperity.”