The Indiana Department of Environmental Management (IDEM) has announced a rulemaking to increase its air program fees. The announcement indicated:

“IDEM’s Office of Air Quality has completed an extensive evaluation of revenues from Title V permit fees, and after careful consideration, and consistent with the provisions of the Indiana General Assembly’s House Enrolled Act 1278, which directs the Environmental Rules Board to approve a fee increase, IDEM is proposing to increase Title V permit fees. This proposed increase is necessary so that IDEM can continue to provide quality permit service in the air program and to ensure that IDEM has sufficient revenue to maintain the other portions of the air program funded through Title V fees.”

The issue will be discussed at the next Environmental Rules Board meeting on August 14.

Members of Indiana’s 21st Century Energy Policy Development Task Force Named

The Governor has made seven appointments to the 21st Century Energy Policy Development Task Force, which is going to consider issues in creating a broad energy policy for the state. The Indiana Chamber supported the creation of this group. The gubernatorial-appointed selections – with terms expiring December 2, 2020 – are:

  • Bill Fine (Greenwood), utility consumer counselor for the state of Indiana
  • John Graham (Bloomington), retiring dean of the Indiana University School of Public and Environmental Affairs
  • Kay Pashos (Indianapolis), partner at Ice Miller legal counsel, practicing in the area of energy and utilities law
  • Philip Powell (Indianapolis), associate dean of academic programs, clinical associate professor of business economic and public policy, and Daniel C. Smith Faculty Fellow at the Indiana University Kelley School of Business
  • Wallace E. Tyner (West Lafayette), James & Lois Ackerman chair and professor of agricultural economics at Purdue University
  • Donna Walker (Bloomington), president and CEO of Hoosier Energy Rural Electric Cooperative, Inc.
  • Juan Pablo Carvallo (Berkeley, California), scientific engineering associate in the electricity markets and policy group at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Indiana Senate President Pro Tem Rodric Bray (R-Martinsville) has also named two appointments to the task force:

  • Eric Koch (R-Bedford), co-chair
  • Jim Merritt (R-Indianapolis), member

The Chamber will be attending the meetings of the task force when scheduled and providing information as warranted. If you have any questions or comments, please let us know.

Resource: Greg Ellis at (317) 264-6881 or email: [email protected]