Tuesday was a great election victory for pro-economy, pro-jobs candidates across the state. A total of 16 of the 20 candidates, Republicans and Democrats, backed by Indiana Business for Responsive Government (IBRG), the non-partisan political program of the Indiana Chamber, won their primary election races. This included incumbents, challengers and those in open seats in a variety of hard-fought contests. Among the highlights:

  • Senate district 11 – Challenger Linda Rogers (R-Granger) defeated 35-year incumbent Sen. Joe Zakas (R-Granger)
  • House district 7 – Rep. Jack Jordan (R-Bremen) soundly defeated Jesse Bohannon in a rematch of the 2016 primary
  • House district 64 – First-time candidate Matt Hostettler (R-Fort Branch) defeated two other GOP challengers for this open seat
  • Senate districts 19 and 31 – Incumbents Sen. Travis Holdman (R-Markle) and Sen. Jim Merritt (R-Indianapolis) scored huge wins in top-targeted races by challengers

The 2018 primary election cycle was the biggest ever for IBRG, in terms of the number of competitive races and the investment in the primary elections. Read IBRG’s detailed 2018 Primary Election Report for more analysis and results for each primary race.

We would like to say a special thank you to all of the Eagles and other investors in the Indiana Chamber’s political action program, as well as IBRG’s volunteer policy group committee members. We are also very appreciative of other business associations and coalition members that IBRG was able to work and partner with in key races around the state.

Resource: Jeff Brantley at (317) 264-7544 or email: [email protected]