The Indiana Chamber publicly announced its endorsements last week in two congressional primaries: Steve Braun in his bid for Indiana’s 4th District and Greg Pence for Indiana’s 6th District.

Indiana Chamber of President Kevin Brinegar offered comments on both candidates.

“Steve Braun has a proven track record as a business leader, state legislator and Indiana Department of Workforce Development commissioner. He is the candidate most qualified to deliver positive solutions and results on issues critical to businesses. We know that Steve will champion the pro-growth policies that Hoosiers in the 4th District are seeking in their next member of Congress.

“Greg Pence is passionate about helping Indiana be a global leader in innovation and economic opportunity. With his military, business and community experience, we expect him to be a productive first-term leader in Congress and a champion for job creation, economic growth and free enterprise.”

The Indiana Chamber’s Congressional Affairs Committee, which determined these endorsements, is a nonpartisan group comprised of volunteer business leaders from around the state.

On the state level, the Indiana Chamber made public the General Assembly incumbents it is endorsing for
re-election in 2018 – the list includes pro-jobs, pro-economy candidates from both parties:

Indiana Senate

District 11: Linda Rodgers (R-Granger) … a challenger against Sen. Joe Zakas

District 19: Sen. Travis Holdman (R-Markle)

District 31: Sen. Jim Merritt (R-Indianapolis)

Indiana House

District 2: Rep. Earl Harris (D-East Chicago)

District 17: Rep. Jack Jordan (R-Bremen)

District 18: Rep. David Wolkins (R-Warsaw)

District 34: Rep. Sue Errington (D-Muncie)

District 36: Rep. Terri Austin (D-Anderson)

District 39: Rep. Jerry Torr (R-Carmel)

District 47: Rep. John Young (R-Franklin)

District 52: Rep. Ben Smaltz (R-Auburn)

District 55: Rep. Cindy Ziemke (R-Batesville)

District 56: Rep. Dick Hamm (R-Richmond)

District 57: Rep. Sean Eberhart (R-Shelbyville)

District 69: Rep. Jim Lucas (R-Seymour)

District 73: Rep. Steve Davisson (R-Salem)

District 80: Rep. Phil GiaQuinta (D-Fort Wayne)

The Chamber’s non-partisan political action committee, Indiana Business for a Responsive Government, made the General Assembly endorsement decisions.

Resources: Caryl Auslander at (317) 264-6880 or email: [email protected] and Jeff Brantley at (317) 264-7544 or email: [email protected]