(INDIANAPOLIS) — Twenty-nine Hoosier business leaders have been named to the Indiana Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, effective immediately.

Joining the more than 100 Indiana Chamber board members who are presidents, CEOs and high-level executives from organizations throughout the state, are:

  • Scott Bruns, office managing partner, Ernst & Young LLP (Indianapolis);
  • Phil Burkholder, president, Defense Aerospace North America, Rolls-Royce (Indianapolis);
  • Chris Campbell, president, First Bancshares/Centier (Merrillville);
  • Julie Carmichael, president, Carmichael & Company (Indianapolis);
  • Debbie Dewey, president, Indiana American Water (Greenwood);
  • Aaron Dixon, partner, Ice Miller, LLP (Indianapolis);
  • Craig Dwight, chairman & CEO, Horizon Bank, N.A. (Michigan City);
  • Jennifer Dzwonar, managing principal, Borshoff (Indianapolis);
  • Sue Ellspermann, president, Ivy Tech Community College (Indianapolis);
  • Eric Halvorson, manager of public affairs, Kroger Co. (Indianapolis);
  • Scott Harrison, president & CEO, Rea Magnet Wire Co. (Fort Wayne);
  • Ken Hedlund, principal, Somerset CPAs, P.C. (Indianapolis);
  • Joe Kessler, executive vice president, chief finance and administration officer, Community Health Network (Indianapolis);
  • Dave Leech, vice president and general manager, FedEx Express (Indianapolis);
  • Lisa Long, president, Chamber of Commerce of Harrison County (Corydon);
  • John McDonald, CEO, CloudOne (Fishers);
  • Diane Medley, managing partner, MCM CPAs & Advisors (Louisville, KY);
  • Terry Murphy, president & CEO, Hammond Group, Inc. (Hammond);
  • Bob Nelson, president, Honda Manufacturing of Indiana (Greensburg);
  • Doug Prince, CEO, ProCourse Fiduciary Advisors (Carmel);
  • Melissa St. John, president/owner, Relocation Strategies (Indianapolis);
  • Casey Stanley, vice president, product management and marketing, Ontario Systems (Muncie);
  • Bill Stephen, vice president of engagement, Indiana University (Indianapolis);
  • Mike Stewart, executive vice president and chief banking officer, First Merchants Bank (Muncie headquarters and locations in Indianapolis and throughout the state);
  • Stephen Stitle, managing partner-Indiana, Smith Amundsen (Indianapolis);
  • Ron Turpin, principal/market president, Gibson (Fort Wayne);
  • Robert Wallstrom, president & CEO, Vera Bradley (Roanoke);
  • John Wechsler, founder and CEO, Launch Fishers (Fishers); and
  • Matt Wyatt, president and CEO, Recovery Force (Fishers).

The Indiana Chamber board plays a crucial role in developing the aspects of the organization’s business advocacy efforts. Members serve on various committees that research key topics and define public policy positions for adoption by the entire board each fall. These positions are used by the Indiana Chamber’s advocacy team to initiate and evaluate legislation at the Indiana Statehouse and at the federal level.

“These 29 new board members are all proven leaders in business and their communities. We are proud to have them join the Chamber’s board and offer perspectives on how to continue promoting business across Indiana,” states Indiana Chamber President and CEO Kevin Brinegar.

“All of our new members are skillful and trusted leaders in their industries. We welcome them to their roles and thank them for their willingness to contribute time and energy to further the cause of Indiana business.”

Long’s term on the board is for one year; all other new board members will serve three-year terms through fall 2019.

Ron Christian, an executive with Evansville-based Vectren, is now leading the Indiana Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors. Christian was formally introduced as chairman of the board during the Indiana Chamber’s 27th Annual Awards Dinner on November 15, and will serve his term through November 2017.

Christian, executive vice president external affairs, chief legal officer and corporate secretary at Vectren, has served on the Indiana Chamber’s board and various policy committees since 2006. Additionally, he has been a part of the Indiana Business for Responsive Government policy group since 2014. Christian was also a member of the 24-person Indiana Vision 2025 task force, which developed the long-range economic plan for the state. In 2013, Christian was named an Indiana Chamber Volunteer of the Year.

“Ron has been a key partner for the Indiana Chamber for many years and he has passionately given his time and expertise to work on various policy committees, and especially as a member of the Indiana Vision 2025 task force,” Brinegar says. “We look forward to his leadership and increased involvement with our organization over the coming year.”


The Indiana Chamber partners with 25,000 members and investors – representing over four million Hoosiers – to achieve the mission of “cultivating a world-class environment which provides economic opportunity and prosperity.”